ellenengland

Teaching Algebra in Middle School

Evaluating our Definitions: Equations and Functions

 After reviewing your classmates post, would you alter your definition?

After reviewing Kristi’s definitions of equations and functions, I would change my definition of function to say that a function is written in the form of an equation because I did not connect equations and functions in my original definitions.

Would you provide different examples?

I would include a table of values for an example of a relation that is not a function and an example of a relation that is a function for students to compare in addition to the graphs I included originally.

How can you evaluate whether or not your students grasped the difference between equations and functions?

To assess if my students understand that some equations are also functions, I would ask them to write one example of an equation that is not a function and one example of an equation that is a function.

June 30, 2011 Posted by | Definitions: Equations & Functions | Leave a comment

The Magic of Proportions

Lemonade for the 4th of July Picnic

Our neighborhood has a potluck picnic on the Fourth of July.  Each family brings either a beverage or food to share with others.  I need to bring enough lemonade for 40 one-cup (8 ounce) servings.  I would like to make fresh squeezed lemonade, but I want to know how much it would cost compared to buying pre-made lemonade or frozen lemonade.

First use of proportions to solve a problem:

The recipe that I have for fresh squeezed lemonade makes 16 servings. Proportions will help me find the quantities of the ingredients needed to make 40 servings.

Second use of proportions to solve a problem:

Proportions will help me find the cost of the 40 servings of each of the three types of lemonade.

To see the solution to my problems click this link:

https://ellenengland.files.wordpress.com/2011/06/lemonadeproportions.pdf

June 30, 2011 Posted by | Proportions | 2 Comments